Yesterday, I think I reluctantly returned this DVD which was lent to me. I realized, a bit too late, that I should have watched it one more time or burned a copy for myself.

This film which centers on a young Buddhist monk’s journey towards enlightenment, might remind you of Herman Hesse’s novel, Siddhartha. I loved this film and it’s slow, tranquil pace which featured breath-taking views of the Himalayas. One review even referred to its cinematography as zen-ematography — slow, silent and lingering shots of nature dominated much of the movie. Samsara even offers quite a different take on Buddhism, perhaps even religion in general, and for a change gives voice to the women who are left behind by men on spiritual journeys in hopes of trying to find themselves.

Best to watch this film with a friend, as the simply mind-blowing end would make you want to talk with somebody. I’m glad I got a reply (even at quite a late hour) when I sent a text message to somebody who had seen it. Just writing about it makes me want to watch it again.

A brief synopsis at Rotten Tomatoes and several interesting reviews here.

