Why is it that some people who work under a high-ranking official think that by professional affiliation, they are as important as the boss they work for? Take this little experience of mine as an example:

I wrote a letter addressed to the director of a hospital to approve my request for some documents from one of the hospital’s committees which is headed by another doctor. The letter was addressed to the director, with an “Attn:” to the head of the committee where the documents would come from. Unfortunately, I made the (simple) mistake of writing the other doctor’s name, not the director’s, at the start of the letter. So instead of Dear Director, I wrote Dear Other Doctor.

For some reason, the office staff who I assume is probably the director’s assistant or secretary found this too much of an offense that she thought she had the right to berate first the person who sent the fax for me, then later ako na mismo when I called to confirm if the fax was received. Granted that there was a mistake, surely she could have easily just asked me to resend it with the “proper” recipients in place? The way she was making a big fuss about it went this way: “E kasi naka address kay Director tapos nakalagay Dear Other Doctor, e kanino ko ba talaga ito ibibigay?” Wait, now that I am writing this I think I finally understand. This poor woman, when faced with my letter, brought upon her too much of a conundrum that she just blew her top. Who should indeed she forward the letter to- Director or Other Doctor? It must’ve been too much for her. The agonizing ordeal she went through— figuring out which doctor ought to receive the letter. Tsk, tsk. I have done this woman a tremendous wrong. This post should be rightfully hers pala.

Oh well.

