highpriestess.jpg

Science. Wisdom. Knowledge. Education.

“The High Priestess is the card of knowledge, instinctual, supernatural, secret knowledge. She holds scrolls of arcane information that she might, or might not reveal to you. The moon crown on her head as well as the crescent by her foot indicates her willingness to illuminate what you otherwise might not see, reveal the secrets you need to know. The High Priestess is also associated with the moon however and can also indicate change or fluctuation, particularly when it comes to your moods.”

My tarot self has been revealed to me. I am The High Priestess. Bow to me.

I have always been drawn to mysticism and the occult. It started with astrology and numerology books that my parents strictly told me to keep my hands off. At first I was simply fascinated by the artwork which both scared and amazed me, my mind too young to comprehend the dark and mysterious images. It was much later that I started to read the text and much later still for me to actually understand what it meant.

In highschool, my friends and I would take a break from our usual card games and try some fortune-telling instead. They said my readings would often make sense or even hit the mark. Secretly, I felt I just got lucky or maybe knew exactly what they wanted to hear—from being with them almost everyday. Still, they appointed me as the group’s seer, regularly asking for readings which usually evolved around their crushes and other boys we met during soirees. Eventually, I got tired and pretty soon they got tired too—from getting mostly “bad” readings (read: unrequited love forecasts).

As I went through college, card reading also became quite a regular thing for me and my mostly loveless little group. During these years, learning the tarot never occurred to me. Tarot cards, for me, was delving too far into an unknown which I wasn’t prepared to do then. Years later Curlytop, who owned a deck and wasn’t afraid to use it, taught me how to do a reading. For a while I was hooked. The tarot gave much more insight to questions but at the same time never really revealed everything one wanted to know.

One time an online reading in Facade predicted my first pregnancy. During a rough time in my life I was giving myself a reading everyday, even several times in one day, so desperate was I to be reassured that things were about to turn out for the better. At that time I knew I had to stop. I abandoned the deck and eventually a friend of ours borrowed our deck (unreturned to this day).

We eventually bought a new set of tarot cards, but only to have one around in case the need arises (ours and our close friends). A friend of mine also gave me deck as a gift. Both decks are seldom used. Not too long ago I lent one of the decks to my mom, upon her insistence. All these years I never knew she was also into that. But I guess that explains the books that started it all for me.

These days getting a reading or needing one only happens occasionally. I take it as a good sign that life seems to be going quite smoothly for me. Or maybe I have learned to trust that things eventually turn out for the better.

*****

To know which Tarot card “best” describes you, take the quiz here.

